MOVE IT/PERFORM 2014 – What I’m Looking Forward To …

The incredible thing about MOVE IT is that you can tailor your day to be exactly what you want. My passion lies with more classical styles of dance such as Ballet, Ballroom and Latin. I also enjoy Yoga and Pilates for a bit of stretching and relaxation. Move it gives me hundreds of possibilities for how I can spend my day either watching or taking part in classes of these styles. However, if you’re a contemporary, hip hop, freestyle or musical theatre performer there is still guaranteed to be just as much for you too. Here’s how I’m looking forward to spending my weekend …

1901322_10152233204688914_160867235_n

My weekend always starts with a wonder around the exhibitor’s stands and making the most of any shopping opportunities. On entering the exhibition hall I am always overwhelmed by the wealth of stalls there are to look at. I’m always particularly interested in what’s on offer from brands like Bloch, Capezio and Sansha who all produce the top ranges of dance footwear.

Although most dance fans will descend on MOVE IT in time for the weekend, I’m hoping I can find the time to sneak in a visit on Friday. Pre-weekend highlights for me include Strictly’s Ian Waite and Natalie Lowe taking a spot on the Interview Sofa to talk about their phenomenally successful dance programme FitSteps. As well as this, there will also be appearances from Strictly’s Kevin Clifton and Karen Hauer to support the Wheelchair Dance Sport Association in their new role as patrons for the charity.

Onto the weekend and my highlight from the main stage will be the performance of FAR from Wayne McGregor| Random Dance danced by ten incredible members of the company, sure to be a demonstration in contemporary at its very best.

Finally, some time for some dancing myself, I’ll be starting the afternoon with an energetic Ballroom and Latin class taken by Christabelle and UK Champion at Blackpool’s Winter Gardens and more recently choreographer of ITV’s Stepping Out. This will be followed up with Mendau Movement: Strength and Tone, a class designed to improve posture strength and tone.

640x450.fitdown (1)

The interview sofa will host a whole range of stars over the course of the weekend, appearances I’m particularly looking forward to include Strictly’s Janette Manrara discussing her recent appearance on the reality dance show and her success on the US version of So You Think You Can Dance? In addition, and perhaps with every other dancer who’s ever dreamed of being a prima ballerina, I will most definitely be making an appointment to catch Darcey Bussell on the sofa on Sunday afternoon. Her appearance last year sent the crowds into a frenzy and I’m expecting more of the same this year and it’s sure to be the perfect way to wrap up my MOVE IT weekend.

www.moveitdance.co.uk

Leave a Reply

